Vegan Booze Guide

Because Saint Patrick’s day was yesterday, I thought I’d give you all a little ‘refresher’ on vegan drinking information. Pun intended.
Not all booze is Vegan friendly! A lot of people don’t know about what goes in to their drinks isn’t only alcohol. Animal products can be used in alcoholic beverages directly, or during the filtration process. If your drink has honey or dairy in it, you can read it on the label, but if it’s been filtered through egg whites, gelatin, seashells, or isinglass(fish bladder, a common occurrence in Japanese beer) you won’t know for sure unless you ask. If there is a brand you’re curious about, contact the company and ask them if they use animal free alternatives in their filtration processes.
I’m not much of a drinker, but I always get questions about what kind of alcohol Vegans can drink, so I’ve compiled a short list of Vegan friendly alcohol options. Obviously, if I were to try to list all of the companies that offer Vegan friendly alcohol, it would take like forever. So, I’m going to list companies that are more well known. If I forgot any that you want listed, let me know. (Obviously Organic NSA alcohol is superior to any other kind and no alcohol is superior to that when regarding health.) When in doubt, don’t drink it.

Vegan friendly booze-
Beer/Cider/Ale/Lager:
Ace Cider
Amstel
Amstel Light
Asahi
Badger Ale
Bass
Beck’s
Blue Moon
Blunderbuss Old Ale
Bud Light
Budweiser
Bush
Coors
Coors Light
Corona
Corona Extra
Dos Equis Lager
Guinness Extra Stout
Heineken
Michelob
Michelob Light
Mike’s Hard Lemonade
Miller Genuine Draft
Miller Lite
Modelo Light
O’Doul’s
Samuel Adam’s Boston Lager
Samuel Adam’s Pale
Stella Artois
Tecate

Liquor:
Absolut Vodka
Bacardi
Grey Goose Vodka
Jack Daniels
Jagermeister
Jameson Irish Whiskey
Jim Beam
Johnnie Walker
Jose Cuervo Tequila
Kahlua (surprisingly)
Ketel One Vodka
Malibu Rum
Patron
Sailor Jerry Rum
Skyy Vodka
Smirnoff Vodka
Tequila El Jimador

Obviously I left a ton out, so if you want to find out if a certain drink is Vegan friendly, I usually use this site as it is a trustworthy source of info: http://www.barnivore.com/beer?vfilter=Vegan#

To my knowledge, all of the products listed on this page are Vegan and are processed in a cruelty free manner. If you find evidence that any of the products on this list are not vegan, please let me know and I will alter the list accordingly.

(I do not support or condone abusing alcohol and only wish to provide information for those who choose to partake in it safely.)

Advertisements

One comment

  1. This is great – thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: